Local Chapters

SAF membership comes in three categories: National, State, and Local Chapter. California is currently home to two State Chapters: Northern California and Southern California. Many members are also assigned a Local Chapter. For non-students, Local Chapters are assigned based on the zip code you reside in (though can be changed by contacting the National Office). Student members are members of their student SAF chapter. A map of the Local Chapter breakdown for California can be found below. Note: not all areas are assigned a Local Chapter. Places that are blank or assigned only a State Chapter do not have a Local Chapter.

 

Leadership

California Student Chapters

NorCal SAF Local Chapters


Bakersfield College Student Chapter (Advisor)

Bill Kelly
1801 Panorama Drive
Bakersfield, CA 93305
Work: 661-395-4527
Email: wkelly@bc.cc.ca.us


Bay Area Chapter

Dave Bakke
Email: norwaydave.db@gmail.com


Bidwell Chapter

Scott Worden
19855 Barton Hill Road
Strawberry Valley, CA 95981
Work: 530-675-2343
Fax: 530-675-0843
Email: sworden@soperwheeler.com


Cal Poly SLO Student Chapter (Advisor)

Rich Thompson & Chris Dicus
Natural Resource Management
Cal Poly SLO
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Work: 805-756-2898 or 808-756-5104
Fax: 805-756-1402
Email: rpthomps@calpoly.edu or cdicus@calpoly.edu


College of the Redwoods Student Chapter

Vacant
Contact the NorCal SAF Office if you are interested in serving in this capacity.


Forty Niner Chapter

Marty Gmelin
P.O. Box 1099
Mi-Wuk Village, CA 95346
Phone(work): 530-675-2343
Email: mgmelin@fs.fed.us


High Sierra Chapter

Patrick Emmert
PO Box 600
Shaver Lake, CA 93664
Phone (work): 559-841-3194
Email: patrick.emmert@sce.com


Humboldt State Student Chapter (Advisor)

Ken Fulgham
Dept Forestry & Wildland Resources
Humboldt State University
Arcata, CA 95521
Work: 707-824-1945
Fax: 707-826-5634
Email: fulghamk@humboldt.edu


Jedediah Smith Chapter

Vacant
Contact the NorCal SAF Office if you are interested in serving in this capacity.


Monterey Bay Chapter

Vacant
Contact the NorCal SAF Office if you are interested in serving in this capacity.


Peter Lassen Chapter

Mike De Lasaux
UCCE
208 Fairgrounds Road
Quincy, CA 95971
Phone: 530-283-6088
Email: mjdelasaux@ucdavis.edu


Redwood Coast Chapter

Bill or Wendy Snyder
Email: bill.snyder@fire.ca.gov


Reedley College Student Chapter (Advisor)

Kent Kinney
773 N. Piedra
Sanger CA 93657
Work: 559-638-3641
Fax: 559-637-2507
Email: kent.kinney@reedleycollege.edu


Sacramento/Tahoe Chapter

Jon Jue
5781 Jenny Way, Loomis, CA 95650
Phone: (916) 539-8999
Email: jonora@sbcglobal.net


Southern San Joaquin Chapter

Brian Rueger
PO Box 711
Springville, CA 93265-0711
Work: (559) 539-3772
Email: brueger@ocsnet.net


UC Berkeley Student Chapter (Advisor)

Bill Stewart
UC Berkeley
137 Mulford Hall, #3114
Berkeley, CA 94720-5438
Home: 510-643-3130
Email: billstewart@berkeley.edu
Website
Facebook


Wyntoon Chapter

John Kessler (Interim Chair)
602 Glen Mar Dr.
Mt. Shasta, CA 96067-2744
Work: 530-859-0883
Email: jkforestry@snowcrest.net